The Klostermühle is a medieval courtyard complex and was first mentioned in the Lorsch Codex in 1152. It is known that besides various knights, the estate also belonged to the assets of the Hornbach monastery. Since 1928 the Klostermühle has been owned by the Jennewein family.
Our ancestors came here THEN and lived with agriculture, ran the old village mill and built a life in close contact with nature, people and animals. Until 1960 flour was ground here with water power. The large sandstone at the entrance is one of the supporting stones of the mill wheel. The mill stream ran through the present "office" and flowed back into the Alsenz under the courtyard.
Originally, only one vacation apartment invited guests to spend their vacations on the farm, but in 1991 the first installation of 6 hotel rooms, a vacation apartment and a breakfast room in the former mill building was made. On 19 June 1992 the small "Hotel Klostermühle" was inaugurated. In the following years, more rooms and vacation apartments, a conference room (today mill storage) as well as the restaurant (1996) and an extension in the entrance area (2002) were built.
In the former potato cellar of the Klostermühle, the current wellness area "Wellness Refugium in the sandstone vault" was created in 2004. Starting from 2007 the hotel enterprise increased further by 2 conference rooms (Conrad & Thomas) and 7 further rooms over it. The "Gudd Stubb", for social gathering, supplemented the premises of the Klostermühle starting from 2012.
TODAY the Klostermühle is a place to feel good, to enjoy, to meet and celebrate, to sleep and to be amazed. The charming Landidyll Hotel has 28 rooms, 3 conference rooms and an excellent restaurant with a large terrace and view of the beautiful garden.